Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Best kind of firewood?

I'm a novice when it comes to fireplace wood. I've heard all kinds of advice when it comes to the best type of wood for an indoor fireplace. Some say cherry, others ash, one guy said apple...

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance...

Dry

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by TheFog
    Dry

Thanx dude.

I'll be certain to include that in the order:

3 chords of dry ________ wood.

It probably just depends on what you can get your hands on. My dad (the thrifty dude that he is) usually grabs a bunch of used pallets from his work, cuts them up and burns those.

I found this, check it out.

City boys don't know anything...

Hardwood is best. Walnut, hickory, hard maples, oak, cherry. You want it to be dry and dense. Avoid soft woods (they burn quickly and make a lot of soot/ash). Avoid pine too. Not only is it soft, the sap makes it crackle and pop.

If you have a wood burning stove you can heat all night on a couple of hardwood logs.
    Last edited by Dave; 12-02-2006 at 09:17 PM.
    The cake is a lie. I'm pretty sure the numbers in the pie chart are made up too.

OK I'm a firewood vet so I'll chime in. Oak is for sure the best wood to burn. Only problem is if it isn't seasoned for at least a year it can be difficult to keep burning. That is why I tend to buy mixed cords.

A couple of things: A little late in the year to be buying wood. Although everyone will claim their wood is seasoned the fact is they've been selling wood for months now and what they are selling now has no doubt been split recently. This means that you will probably need to split it some more to get it small enough to burn well. DO NOT BUY AN AXE for this job, buy a maul. This looks like an axe but has a much thicker head. Much more weight in the head and makes splitting wood very easy.